h1

Ritual Objects and Human Rites

05/10/10

I am currently scripting a ritual called COMMITTED. This ritual requires my body, a gesture, an object, a document, an emotion, a thought and a space. I need to connect some dots. I need to leave some dots free to fall away. I guess I need to do some research, some searching and re-searching…

Questions:
1. What are the different ways of bowing? Which one hurts the most?
2. How many bows/minutes of bowing does it take to tucker me out?
3. How many hours of sleep does a human need? How many hours does it take to dream?
4. What is the most inconvenient time to wake up?
5. How many minutes must an activity last to make it seem worth doing?
6. How do I know when I am done?
7. How do I know when I am different?
8. How does humiliation change a body? A mind?
9. How does reverence change a space? A time?
10. How does a ritual form?

Ritual Objects and Human Rites as represented by the Met/A well-dusted example of Classy Curatorial Ethno-Fetishization:


In the afterlife, miniature vessels could magically serve as well as full-sized vessels.
The small stone tray holds models of objects required for the Opening of the Mouth ceremony.
This rite reanimated the deceased or animated a statue so that it could eat, breathe, see, hear, and otherwise enjoy everything offered to it.

Charms drive off storms.

Drum stores ancestor’s booming voice.

Ceremonial ceiling composed of 270 painted palms gossips about worshipers below.

Puppets mourn for those who died without children.

Leave a Reply

